Texas follows the Financial Responsibility Act. Any person who wants to operate a vehicle must have a liability policy that ensures they can pay for damage that comes from an auto accident. The minimum coverage limits in Katy are $25,000 for bodily injury to one person, $50,000 for bodily injury to two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage.
Drivers should carry proof of insurance with them at all times. A driver must show proof of insurance in many situations, such as when asked by a law enforcement officer or when renewing a drivers license.
Not having proper car insurance in Texas can result in fines and other penalties. A first offense carries a fine of $175 to $300. More offenses can result in fines of up to $1,000 and suspension of your license. Ultimately, this can cost you more than auto insurance ever will.
Consumers should shop around to find the most affordable auto insurance coverage in Katy. Different insurance carriers will charge the same customer different prices, and you should look around to compare. Premiums are calculated based on several factors, such as the applicant’s driving record, race, age, sex, marital status, place of residence, and vehicle.
Furthermore, companies charge different rates depending on their experience with their clients. For example, a carrier that has had to spend a lot of money for DUI incidents may charge higher premiums for that.
The Internet provides an easy way to compare prices. Only basic information, such as make and model of your car, is required. Personal information like social security or drivers’ license numbers is not required. You can complete a form with this basic information at a reputable website and submit it to receive quotes about auto insurance in Katy.
At Texas Insurance Agency, we also shop around for our clients. We work with nationwide insurance carriers to get low-cost car insurance for our Katy customers. For more information, visit our website or call us Toll free at 877-952-1010.